Hosted By Dave Zirin - Sports Editor at the Nation
As Seen On ESPN, CNN, FS1, NBC

Posts tagged with ‘boxing’

Goodbye, Champ: A Final Tribute to Muhammad Ali with John Carlos, Bill Siegel, Bijan C. Bayne

image

Our final tribute to Muhammad Ali features Bill Siegel, director of ‘The Trials of Muhammad Ali,’ as well as cultural commentator and author Bijan C. Bayne, and finally one icon says goodbye to another as we hear from 1968 Olympic hero, Dr. John Carlos.

Hear our entire series of Ali tributes at . Thank you to all the guests who participated and to the city of Louisville for hosting such a touching tribute.

Bill Siegel film:: https://twitter.com/MuhammadAliDoc | http://kartemquin.com/films/the-trials-of-muhammad-ali | http://hulu.com/watch/617383
Bijan C. Bayne: http://twitter.com/bijancbayne
Dr. John Carlos: http://johncarlos68.com | The John Carlos Story
The Sports Moment That Changed the World http://haymarketbooks.org/hc/The-John-Carlos-Story

Music by Yusef Lateef “Like It Is” & “Love Theme from Spartacus" http://yuseflateef.com

| http://twitter.com/edgeofsports | http://fb.com/edgeofsportspod | email us: edgeofsports@slate.com

Muhammad Ali’s Funeral: Live From Louisville

image

Today we bring you the emotions, sounds, and voices of Muhammad Ali’s funeral in Louisville. This was a day that will go down in history as the last act of resistance by the 20th century’s most iconic fighter. People came to pay respects from near and far, both young and old, in every shade of color, media professionals and everyday folks alike…all bound together by a love for our hero: Ali. This show is dedicated to our LBGT - and specifically Latino LGBT - brothers and sisters who were killed in Orlando the very day after Ali’s funeral. We address this horrific juxtaposition with a statement against anti-LGBT and anti-Muslim bigotry.

Column: ‘Sleep Easy, My Brother’ http://thenation.com/article/sleep-easy-my-brother
Column: ‘The Orlando Killings and the Message of Muhammad Ali’s Funeral’ http://thenation.com/article/the-orlando-killings-and-the-message-of-muhammad-alis-funeral/
The Ali Center: http://alicenter.org
Ali’s entire interfaith memorial: https://youtu.be/NBX59J-ltuA
Ali’s Muslim Janazah memorial: https://youtu.be/_xMTGnHoHS8
Ali’s entire memorial procession: https://youtu.be/G5ZDZMLfgqY

Special thanks: The Ali Center, The Nation, Panoply, Andy Bowers, Democracy Now, Amy Goodman, Dalia Mogahed and her family, Howard Bryant, the staff of Broadway Digital, WBAI, Mike Pesca, Mary Wilson, the MSNBC crew in Louisville, Craig Melvin, Brian Williams, Dr. Harry Edwards, Jim Embry, Dedrick Rashad Hough, and Julius Denson II.

Music: (Louisville’s own) Jerry Tolson — March Of The Contradi http://jerrytolson.com | Yusef Lateef - Love Theme From Spartacus http://yuseflateef.com


| http://twitter.com/edgeofsports | http://fb.com/edgeofsportspod | email us: edgeofsports@slate.com

Muhammad Ali’s Politics of Faith with Shireen Ahmed & Tariq Toure

image

All week we are releasing interviews about the remarkable and singular legacy of The Champ, Muhammad Ali. Today we have Canadian sports journalist and social justice activist Shireen Ahmed, then Baltimore poet and founder of #NoJusticeNoLeBron, Tariq Toure. They speak about the Ali’s support of the Palestinian liberation and what it has meant to them to share the faith of the King of the World.

Shireen Ahmed: https://twitter.com/shireenahmed |  http://shireenahmed.com Tariq Toure: http://twitter.com/tariqtoure | http://tariqtoure.com Music: McCoy Tyner - Search For Peace http://mccoytyner.com | Faithless - Muhammad Ali http://faithless.co.uk | http://twitter.com/edgeofsports | http://fb.com/edgeofsportspod | email us: edgeofsports@slate.com

Chuck D Honors Ali: “He Grabbed the Mic and He Rhymed.”

image

The world shook last week as the greatest sports figure of the 20th Century, Muhammad Ali, passed away. Today begins a week of special podcasts devoted to The Champ, which will end with a trip to Louisville for Ali’s memorial. We originally booked today’s guest, Chuck D, to talk about his new supergroup ‘Prophets of Rage,’ which also features B-Real from Cypress Hill and members of Rage Against The Machine. Today, Chuck talks about this rebellious musical project, their summer tour that starts July 19th in Cleveland, and offers his insights into Ali’s indelible legacy. Then, ‘Choice Words’ from Dave’s latest column for The Nation.

Be sure to subscribe to the show so you don’t miss any of this week’s special Ali programming. Search for Edge of Sports on on iTunes, Stitcher, Google Play Music or your podcast app of choice. For more information, visit EdgeOfSportsPodcast.com

Prophets of Rage: http://prophetsofrage.com | https://fb.com/TheProphetsofRage | http://twitter.com/prophetsofrage
Chuck D: http://twitter.com/MrChuckD
Zirin: ‘I Just Wanted to Be Free’: The Radical Reverberations of Muhammad Ali
http://www.thenation.com/article/i-just-wanted-to-be-free-the-radical-reverberations-of-muhammad-ali

| http://twitter.com/edgeofsports | http://fb.com/edgeofsportspod | email us: edgeofsports@slate.com

Music: Public Enemy (Terrorbeat, Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos, Welcome to the Terrordome) http://publicenemy.com | Miles Davis (Ali) http://milesdavis.com

Load More