Hosted By Dave Zirin - Sports Editor at the Nation
As Seen On ESPN, CNN, FS1, NBC

John Carlos: “Follow Kaepernick to the Rainbow”

image
image

We bring sports and politics icon John Carlos in-studio to talk about how it feels to see a new generation of athletes replicate his anthem protests of 1968. Dr. Carlos - who is having a wild week - also speaks to us about the opening of the new National Museum of African American History and Culture where he was part of the unveiling of a statue of himself, and two other two men on that iconic medal stand: Tommie Smith and Peter Norman. Carlos is also in town to visit the White House. He speaks about what it feels like to be re-embraced and who he still feels owes him a damn apology (spoiler: it’s Brent Musburger.) We also have some choice words for Mike Ditka, we take listener calls and a Just Stand Up Award for the Castlemont Knights football team, showing some A plus solidarity with the protest of Colin Kaepernick.

http://www.johncarlos68.com/ | https://twitter.com/DrJohnCarlos/ | https://www.instagram.com/drjohncarlos1968/

The John Carlos Story: The Sports Moment That Changed the World by John Carlos and Dave Zirin http://www.haymarketbooks.org/hc/The-John-Carlos-Story

The Unbearable Bigotry of Mike Ditka: https://www.thenation.com/article/the-unbearable-bigotry-of-mike-ditka/

On the Passing of HBCU and Olympic Coaching Legend Ed Temple: https://www.thenation.com/article/on-the-passing-of-hbcu-and-olympic-coaching-legend-ed-temple/

After Forty-four Years, It’s Time Brent Musburger Apologized to John Carlos and Tommie Smith: https://www.thenation.com/article/after-forty-four-years-its-time-brent-musburger-apologized-john-carlos-and-tommie-smith/

| http://twitter.com/edgeofsports | http://fb.com/edgeofsportspod | email us: edgeofsports@slate.com

Edge of Sports Hotline: (401) 426-3343 (EDGE)


music: “Vision” - McCoy Tyner | Stevie Wonder - Live from NMAAHC opening https://youtu.be/M2wlGbNk8Sc |  “Touch the Sky” - Kanye West http://kanyewest.com (Just Blaze production https://twitter.com/justblaze) | “Simon Says” - Pharoahe Monch (Pharoahe Monch production http://pharoahe.com) | “D’Evils” - Jay Z http://lifeandtimes.com (DJ Premier production http://premierwuzhere.com, Crank Lucas remake https://twitter.com/crank_lucas) | “I Don’t Know” - Slum Village http://slumvillage.com/ (J Dilla production http://j-dilla.com/) | “Used to Love U” - John Legend http://johnlegend.com (Kanye West production)